out of this world

In the late 80’s and early 90’s there was this great show called Out of This World about a girl with an alien father (who she would talk to through this crystal-box thing). She lived on earth and was fairly normal except that she had the ability of stopping time by touching two of her fingers together. Everything would just freeze and she’d be able to do whatever she wanted as long as she wanted until she touched her fingers again and time began rolling.

I used to want to be that girl with the alien father. (Mostly when I was an engineering student and UW-Madison drinking 2 pots of coffee a day and consistently going on less than 4 hours of sleep a night.) If only I could have stopped time and taken a realllllllllllllllllllllly long nap. After I got through the hell of the engineering program and recovered from my perfectionist tendencies, I no longer longed for that time-freezing superpower. Time was ok as it was.

But now… I want it back. No no, not because I am too busy… yes my days are full, but I am getting sleep… but because I want the world to STOP for a bit so I can just sit down, take a deep breath, and look around. I desire just some time and space to be and not having anything i need to do. I want a chance to look back and some time to look forward. I want some time to connect with God- something i seem to need a lot of time and space to do. I want some time to just breathe- to shrug-off each pressure, expectation, lie, and longing and just look around at where I am. I want to appreciate that I just AM.

I could take a break or an afternoon off, but no matter how hard I would fight it, I would still be caught up in the time that was passing around me. But to freeze time… I could finally just break free.

Leave a Reply

