Republicans, Politicians in Church, Same-sex Marriage and other Election Day Thoughts

Today is election day! For the first time in my life I have been following national and local politics closely so I am excited to see how this election turns out. It feels a little like a holiday.There is a lot I could talk about with this election, but I just want to bring up a few observations:

1) I have been a news junky lately and have been so happy to see that the national media is finally catching on that not all Christians are Republicans. Just yesterday I was watching Dateline where they covered a story of two pastors. One was going door to door sharing biblical guidelines for voting- he made the point that the Republican agenda is synonymous to a Christian agenda. The other pastor, of a megachurch, was shown using his Sunday sermon to talk about the evils of abortion and urging his congregation to vote Republican. I’m sick of telling people I am a Christian and having them assume I am a Republican; I think this assumption was largely built by our national media and I hope the national media will continue to break it down.

2) Church and state- the debate won’t end soon. But is it right for a church to preach partisan politics? Local politicians have been promoted at churches around Chicago. Church bulletins have pushed banning same sex-marriage. Pastors have stood up and urged their congregation to vote as a block either Republican or Democrat. Should the church be doing this? I say “NO!” I don’t even understand why a church or pastor would think it is biblically correct to promote one party or politician. If you understand their rational, let me know.

3) The gay marriage debate: eight states are deciding if they are going to ban same-sex marriage today. 23 have already decided to ban same-sex marriage. But is it right for Christians to rally behind this ban? I say “NO!” (yet again). When it comes to the red-hot Christian debate, I have to agree with Krissy’s comment on Dave’s blog:

I think sometimes as Christians we get confused about our purpose on earth. Sometimes we think our job is to make people moral, rather than to help them understand the grace of God. It is not our job to legislate morality. Making the world more moral accomplishes little, other than making us more comfortable in it (other than, of course, the many moral issues that affect the larger population).

I believe that legislating morality will not bring anyone closer to God. God does not want a bunch of moral non-Christians, He wants sinners who realize that they are broken and accept His grace. Making homosexual unions illegal will not help homosexual people understand God’s grace and love for them.

Christians, why are we building moral boundaries that may deter people from God when our goal should not be to moralize this nation? Our goal is to bring people into the Kingdom, care for the sick and oppressed, and share God’s love. We shouldn’t force people into conservative Christian morality, we should love them and show them God’s love and hope they accept it for themselves. When are America’s Christians going to figure this out? At least Krissy gets it 🙂

Leave a Reply

