freedom

Do you ever feel trapped sometimes?

Maybe it’s because i’m in my last semester of college. Or maybe it’s because this is my 10th semester (yikes!). Or maybe it’s because I’m in Chicago and it’s too cold or slushy outside to really get out….

but i feel trapped.

Do you ever just crave an adventure? Do you ever just want to get out there and do something wild? (And I don’t mean stupid-wild like trying to drink 15 shots in a row… ) But I mean, do you ever just crave escaping your routine?

I think I’ve fallen into routine. I’ve been married for 6 months (as of today- woowhoo!!). I’ve been at my school for over a year. I’ve gone to the same church and worked at the same church since early fall… and there doesn’t seem to be a whole lot of adventures going on in my life. (If you’re thinking “sure sounds like there are a lot of new things in your life” then you don’t know me.)

I just want to be free. I want to go exploring. I want to get in my car and drive to new places. I want to skip a week of school and go on an adventure….

Help! What do you do when you are in serious need of some adventures?

4 thoughts on “freedom

  1. bored after 6 months of marriage? oh my… maybe you two need to pick a fight or something haha…

    but i know how you feel sometimes… well … all it takes is simply doing something about it. what’s stopping you from hopping in that car?

  2. I think spontaneity is an important thing in marriage, for the very reasons you stated in your post. When you get stuck in a routine, it’s important to get out and experience life outside of that, even if it’s just for a day. A while back (before we fell into our routine again) John and I would just wake up on Saturdays and take drives without really knowing where we were going. Sometimes we had a destination in mind and would go see something we hadn’t seen before. It was fun really b/c we’ve lived here for over 3 years now but hadn’t seen too many things outside of Wichita. It’s nice to get a feel for the extended community you’re in. I think there has to be a little adventure in everything we do just to keep things interesting and help us grow. Taking a different way to work or school, making plans for the weekend instead of staying in. If time permits you could join a club of your interest (last year we joined a Mountain Biking Club here in Wichita which has proved to be really fun, John gets a lot more out of it than I do but I joined just to spend time with him, and the biking is fun too!!) I don’t know, you’ll think of something I’m sure. You guys seem like pretty adventurous people, I’m sure that you’ll think of something to satisfy that craving.

  3. Maria,

    This sounds exactly what I was feeling back in December. I didn’t know what I needed to do, but I needed to “get out and do something.” Our schedules were too packed to make it to the ocean and it felt like there was no end in sight. I think camping a few weekends ago in Malibu, and then going surfing solved the problem for me. Just getting outside for the purpose of enjoying creation is a great cure for me. Hope that you guys find a way to feel freedom once again – it’s not always easy in a big city.

Leave a Reply

