Reading

My friend Dave wrote a blog about what he was reading lately and I thought I would do the same. I love reading about what other people are reading. As Dave can attest, I enjoy looking through other people’s bookshelves (sorry about leaving your books lying around dave… ) to find out what they are interested in. I figure that if someone invests the time into reading a book or at least spent the money to buy it and place it on their bookshelf it probably reflects them or their interests. I know that can be said of me and my bookshelf. So here is the list of what I have been reading lately.

Over Christmas break I tried to read as many books as possible. This is as far as I got:

Culture Jam- by Kalle Lasn (the publisher of Adbusters magazine) Could have been better written but a completely worthwhile read if you are interested in learning just how much power the media, corporations, and brands have on our culture (and yourself) and what you can do about it.

.

My Bloody Life: The Making a Latin King- by Reymundo Sanchez As the cover says, it is a “slow motion riot of drugs, sex, and gunplay” but it is also an amazing inside look at the world of gangs and the story of one gang member. Both entertaining and educational. A few weeks after I read it I met an ex-Latin King and we had a great conversation, mainly because I understood where he was coming from due to reading this book.

.

The Seceret Message of Jesus- Brian McLaren I had high expectations of this book but after reading so many other books about the Emerging Church, books by emerging church authors, and books on Kingdom Theology this book was a bit of a let down. I do recommend it as an introduction to a lot of “emerging” ideas for those who do not know a lot about McLaren’s or his friends’ ideas.
.
Rich Christians in the Age of Hunger- Ron Sider I actually didn’t make it all the way through this one- the state of our world really got to me and I ended up feeling depressed. But don’t let that stop you. This is a must-read for Christians.

Irresistable Revolution- Shane Clairborne YOU HAVE TO READ THIS BOOK. One of my all-time favorites… i’m not kidding.
.

Deep Ministry in a Shallow World- A great book for youth ministry- the rest of you probably wouldn’t be too interested, but once again those amazing Fuller profs put out a great resource.

.

And these are the books I’m currently reading for classes:

Letters Across the Divide- Anderson & Zuercher This book is an easy read and a good introduction to racial reconciliation. If you’ve read a lot on that topic you may want to skip this one.

Dissident Discipleship- Augsburger
I’m super excited about this one. As I get further into the book perhaps you’ll be lucky enough to get a review on it out of me.

Cross-cultural Servanthood- Elmer This book is full of great principles for working multi-culturally. Although it is geared towards going overseas, I am reading it for my Urban Youth Ministry class and finding it helpful for cross-cultural relationships w/in our own country.

Soul Searching: The Religious and Spiritual Lives of American Teenagers- Christian Smith This book is based on a national study of teenagers and really interesting to me, but if you aren’t a youth min major the report-style of writing may stop you by page 50.

The Complete Book of Discipleship- Bill Hull Boring title, amazing book! I recommend this one!!!

Teenage Guys- Gerali An adolescent development book.

Urban Ministry- Oritz & Conn I have been fortunate enough to have had some experience ministring in urban settings, particularily Chicago, but I am still excited to take a deeper look into the biblical basis for urban ministry. I’m also hoping this book will help me figure out if I am called to urban ministry. I’m starting to think that i am (uh oh… ) 🙂

3 thoughts on “Reading

  1. Pingback: Welcome To The Book Club » Blog Archive » Two Great Reading Lists You Should See

  2. I have to second your recommendation of Shane Claiborne’s book “The Irresistible Revolution.” It had such an amazing impact on my life, and I read it at a time when so much regarding how I view ministry and the Church was already changing. It totally messed up my life…in a good way.

  3. Pingback: Ragamuffin Disciple · Books, Books, I love Books

Leave a Reply

