going to work

I started my new job on Tuesday (July 10th) at the Christopher House. I’m not an actual employee because I am doing Americorps this year. Americorps volunteers serve in communities, mostly at social service organizations and non-profits, with the overall goal to fight poverty…. right up my alley. We serve for one year and work 40 hours a week, if not more.

I have had a lot of jobs, but this one feels completely different. I have worked jobs that have taken a lot of responsibility, a lot of hours, and a lot of self-motivation. I have worked jobs for only 10 hours a week and others for over 80. I’m on my 19th or 20th job with this one, but I finally feel like I have really entered the workforce.

I’m working the regular 9-to-5.

I have my very own desk.

I have a work e-mail, a phone number, and a computer.

I have a budget to work with.

All the rest has been the same as some of my other jobs, but the frills of being treated like a real employee are brand new. Even though I’m not really being paid this year, having my own computer and a budget makes me feel a lot better about it.

For the first time, I feel like I have a “real” job. It’s a good day.

One thought on “going to work

  1. Have fun with Americorps! I *served* my first year here in Wichita and loved it. I got a monthly stipend though, aren’t you getting one? The education benefit at the end is nice also! 🙂

    For my service, I served at an elementary school with 3rd & 4th grade special education students and had a blast! I loved those kids! Good luck and I hope you enjoy it!

    Stacia

Leave a Reply

