everyone is nice

I live in a bubble, and it’s starting to get sticky in here.

I’m about to start seminary in a week and a half, I live in seminary housing, and I work at a church part-time. Can you guess which bubble I live in?

I moved across the country and directly into my bubble. And there are soooooooo many nice welcoming people here. People to eat with. People to play with. People to talk with, to watch movies with, to play games with, and to go to church with. And it’s all inside this little bubble.

Everyone is nice. I mean genuinely, authentically, oh-so-sweet nice.

And I don’t know what’s wrong with me, but I don’t like it. It doesn’t feel “real”, even though I know that all these people really are so genuinely authentically nice. They aren’t faking anything. And yet it doesn’t feel real. It feels like we are in a bubble. Like the real world is out there living life and hurting and trying to get by and feeling all these emotions and we are just nice

I don’t want nice. I want messy. I want gritty. I want down-in-the-dirt of this earth trying to build the kingdom of God out of spit and mud.

If you know me, and you live by me, and you want this to… call me some time. We’ll go get a beer and talk about building the kingdom out of spit and mud.

One thought on “everyone is nice

  1. Hey Maria –

    I found your blog through Dave Kludt’s…hope you don’t mind! Anyway, I totally hear you on this one. I’m not sure what I’d like to do about it, but I just wanted to let you know that I understand where you’re coming from and what you’re saying.

    Heidi Snyder

Leave a Reply

